Fabia Santcovsky

Franz oyéndose en el reflejo del viento a través del tiempo for ensemble

(12 min.)

Premiere of the composition commissions I:
C | KOLUMBA Kunstmuseum des Erzbistums Köln
Sunday, May 22, 11 a.m.


Fabiá Santcovsky, born 1989 in Barcelona, studied composition at the Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya under Gabriel Brnˇci´c and Mauricio Sotelo and at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Stuttgart under Marco Stroppa. Fabiá now is studying for a Masters in Composition at the Universität der Künste under Daniel Ott. He has received tuition from George Benjamin and Chaya Czernowin during the ManiFeste Academy organized at IRCAM in 2014 and from Beat Furrer, Pierluigi Billone and Clemens Gadenstätter at impuls Academy 2015 in Graz. He also attended master classes by Helmut Lachenmann, Klaus Huber, Salvatore Sciarrino, Hilda Paredes, Ramon Lazkano, Aureliano Cattaneo, Elena Mendoza and Iris ter Schiphorst at a variety of music universities. His work has been recognized in competitions such as the Toru Takemitsu Composition Award (Japan, 2015), the International Composer Pyramid (UK & France, 2012), Francisco Escudero Concurso Internacional de Composición (Spain, 2011) and Creación Joven (Spain, 2011); His music has been part of the opera-installation Ödipus Lost premiered at the Musiktheatertage Wien (Austria, 2015). He holds a Wardwell Fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung for music studies. His music has been performed by the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Exaudi Vocal Ensemble, Arcadia String Quartet, Ensemble BCN-216, ICP Ensemble, Arena Duo and Zahir Ensemble among others.